Sign In Forgot Password

03/30/2017 10:17:30 AM


Are pumpkin seeds and cashews considered kitniyot?

They are not kitniyot and those that are kosher year-round are ok as long as they are raw without any additives. 

From the OU (CRC agrees): "Raw nuts in their shell do not require Passover certification.
Shelled nuts that list BHA or BHT (preservatives) in the ingredients require special Passover certification. The preservatives are sprayed on the nuts using corn derivatives (kitniyot). If no additives are added, most nuts may be used without special Passover certification. That includes pasteurized nuts. Pecans are only acceptable with special Passover certification."

(Star-K holds that whole and half raw pecans without additives are ok, but not pecan pieces.)
Mon, December 4 2023 21 Kislev 5784